University of Belgrade (UB)

The University of Belgrade is an institution which is rightly considered one of the greatest contributions of the peoples of Europe to the world’s cultural heritage.

The University is a state university. Its main activities in the fields of higher education and scientific research are activities of public interest, and they are carried out in accordance with the legal regulations.

The University of Belgrade celebrates September 13 as its day. This is the date when lessons started at the first Higher School, founded by Dositej Obradovic.

During the two centuries of its existence the University of Belgrade has served its people, and its former students and teachers have greatly contributed to the development of cultural, scientific, educational, political and economic life of our country.

The University of Belgrade is prepared to maintain and enhance its position as the leading institution of higher education in the region by adapting to the challenges of modern times on one hand, and preserving what’s worth in its tradition on the other. This is precisely what makes it recognized as a true national brand. The Faculty of Philosophy is the oldest Faculty at the University of Belgrade in Belgrade. The beginnings of the Faculty of Philosophy date back to year 1838 when, by the Prince Miloš Decree, the Lyceum School was established in the city of Kragujevac. Today, the Faculty of Philosophy is a modern institution of higher education that follows all current trends in educational systems across the globe.

At present, the Faculty of Philosophy teaching stuff employs about 255 professors and enrolls around 5000 students at all academic levels offering bachelor, master and doctoral programs for nine different renowned departments, some of which with a history over hundred years long: Department of Philosophy, Department of Sociology, Department of Psychology, Department of Pedagogy and Andragogy, Department of Ethnology and Anthropology, Department of History, Department of History of Art, Department of Archaeology, and Department of Classics.

Design and Development by arivum.